- What "Exam Dates" Means for EX183
- How EX183 Scheduling Actually Works
- Remote, Testing Center, or Classroom
- Timing Your Booking Around the Seven Domains
- Fees, Retakes, and Deadline Mechanics
- Results Timing and What Comes After
- The Three-Year Clock and Renewal Planning
- Pre-Booking Checklist
- Frequently Asked Questions
- EX183 is Red Hat's hands-on JBoss EAP 7 exam; dates come from Red Hat's booking system, not a fixed national calendar.
- The reviewed exam page lists no duration, so confirm the timer on your booking confirmation.
- The program-wide list price is USD 500, but the regional booking-cart price controls what you pay.
- Eligible unsuccessful first individual attempts get one free retake, subject to scheduling restrictions and eligibility periods.
What "Exam Dates" Means for EX183
Searchers who type "RHCEAD exam dates" are usually looking for a calendar of fixed sittings, the way some credentials publish quarterly windows. The Red Hat Certified Specialist in Enterprise Application Development (the credential still widely searched as RHCEAD, exam code EX183) does not work that way in the sources reviewed. Red Hat, Inc. delivers the exam through its own exam delivery channels, and what you can book depends on availability in your region and delivery format.
That distinction matters for planning. Instead of watching for an announcement, your job is to decide when you will be ready, then find the earliest suitable slot. This article walks through how that process works, how to align it with the exam's seven preparation domains, and which policy details (fees, retakes, results, renewal) affect your timeline. For a broader orientation to the credential itself, see What Is RHCEAD Certification?.
How EX183 Scheduling Actually Works
Scheduling follows Red Hat's program-wide rules rather than an EX183-specific timetable. The practical sequence looks like this:
- Confirm eligibility. There are no formal prerequisites for EX183. Red Hat recommends solid Java SE knowledge, familiarity with JBoss Developer Studio on RHEL, and AD183 course preparation, but none of these is a gate. Details are covered in RHCEAD Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
- Check availability for your preferred format. Remote, testing-center, and classroom delivery are all subject to booking availability.
- Purchase or redeem the exam entitlement. The price you see in the booking cart is the price that applies.
- Select a slot and read the confirmation carefully. Because the reviewed exam page does not state a duration, the confirmation and exam-day instructions are your authority on the timer.
- Complete required checks. Remote candidates need a LiveUSB, a successful compatibility test, and the required identity and hardware checks before the session.
There is no evidence in the reviewed sources of a single annual registration deadline for EX183. Treat any third-party site that claims fixed "testing windows" for this exam with skepticism and verify against your Red Hat booking account.
Remote, Testing Center, or Classroom
The delivery format you choose is the biggest factor in how soon you can sit the exam. Each has different lead-time considerations.
| Delivery Format | What You Need to Know | Scheduling Consideration |
|---|---|---|
| Remote | Requires a LiveUSB, a successful compatibility test, and identity/hardware checks | Run the compatibility test well before exam day so failures do not force a reschedule |
| Testing center | Subject to booking availability at a given location | Popular locations may have fewer open slots; check early |
| Classroom | Subject to booking availability; often tied to a training event | Dates follow the classroom schedule rather than your preference |
Since this is a hands-on assessment on JBoss EAP 7, a stable setup matters more than it would for a typed-answer exam. Your environment, display, and connection all affect how smoothly you can work through configuration tasks.
Timing Your Booking Around the Seven Domains
EX183 is a hands-on enterprise Java development assessment, not a multiple-choice question bank. You build and configure working functionality on JBoss EAP 7, and configurations must persist after reboot. Internet access and candidate-supplied documentation are prohibited; only the documentation shipped with JBoss EAP is supplied. That format changes how you should pick a date: you need to be fluent enough that you are not hunting through unfamiliar material under time pressure.
Red Hat's objectives list seven preparation categories. These are unweighted, so do not assume any one dominates the exam. Stateless EJB business logic is also explicitly supported by the exam overview and credential competency list, so keep it in your preparation even though it is not its own heading.
Domain 1: Bean validation
Constraint annotations, custom validation behavior, and how validation interacts with the rest of your application layers.
- Practice applying and verifying constraints on entities and request data
- Confirm validation failures surface where you expect them to
Domain 2: JPA mapping
Mapping Java classes to relational structures, including relationships between entities.
- Build entities with realistic relationships and confirm persistence behavior
- Practice persistence unit configuration on EAP 7
Domain 3: JPA query
Retrieving data through the query facilities JPA provides.
- Write queries against your own mapped entities until syntax is automatic
- Verify results rather than assuming a query returns what you intended
Domain 4: Messaging
Asynchronous communication on the application server, including configuring and using messaging resources.
- Practice server-side resource configuration that must survive a restart
- Build producers and consumers and confirm end-to-end delivery
Domain 5: REST services with JAX-RS
Exposing application functionality as RESTful endpoints.
- Build resource classes and test them against the running server
- Check response behavior, not only that the endpoint deploys
Domain 6: Security
Securing application resources on JBoss EAP 7.
- Practice server-side security configuration and confirm it persists after reboot
- Test both permitted and denied access paths
Domain 7: CDI
Contexts and dependency injection for wiring application components.
- Practice injection, scopes, and qualifiers in a working application
- Combine CDI with the EJB and JAX-RS code you already built
For a fuller breakdown of each area, read RHCEAD Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 7 Content Areas.
A domain-ordered preparation timeline
Because the domains build on one another, your calendar should too. The sequence below is one reasonable way to order work before you commit to a booking date. Adjust the length to your experience; this is a pacing suggestion, not an official requirement.
Foundation: JPA mapping, JPA query, and Bean validation
- These form the data layer that later work depends on
- Build one small application and keep extending it
Services: stateless EJB logic and REST with JAX-RS
- Layer business logic and endpoints on top of your data model
- Test through the running server, not only in the IDE
Server-heavy topics: Messaging and Security
- Both involve server configuration that must persist after reboot
- Restart the server after each change and re-verify
Integration: CDI and full timed rehearsals
- Rebuild a working application from scratch using only EAP-shipped documentation
- Use original practice projects, never reconstructed exam content
Book your exam once Block 4 rehearsals feel routine. Our RHCEAD Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt expands on how to structure each block, and How Hard Is the RHCEAD Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 helps you judge readiness honestly.
Key Takeaway
Practice with only the documentation that ships with JBoss EAP. If you rely on web searches or personal notes during rehearsals, you will not discover your gaps until the real session, where those resources are prohibited.
Fees, Retakes, and Deadline Mechanics
What the exam costs
The program-wide standard exam list price is USD 500. That figure comes from Red Hat's program policy sources and is not an EX183-specific checkout quotation. The regional booking-cart price controls, so what you actually pay may differ depending on where you book and how you purchase. Check the cart before you commit, and see RHCEAD Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown for the wider cost picture, including preparation expenses.
The free retake and why it affects your date
Under Red Hat's training policies, an eligible unsuccessful first individual attempt receives one free retake. Eligibility depends on how the exam was purchased (or subscription status), the applicable eligibility periods, and scheduling restrictions. Two practical consequences follow:
- Do not treat the retake as unlimited time. It is subject to eligibility periods, so a long gap after a failed attempt could affect whether the benefit still applies.
- Read the policy before booking. Confirm that your purchase route qualifies, particularly if you are buying through an employer, a bundle, or a subscription.
Results Timing and What Comes After
Red Hat's program guide gives a results window of up to five business days. No EX183-specific shorter promise is made in the reviewed sources, so do not plan around faster turnaround. If you are sequencing the exam around a job application, performance review, or project start, build that five-business-day buffer into your plan.
Questions about scoring thresholds come up constantly. This site does not publish unverified task counts, pass marks, or pass-rate statistics for EX183, because the reviewed sources do not supply them. For what is and is not known, see RHCEAD Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass and RHCEAD Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
The Three-Year Clock and Renewal Planning
Certifications are current for three years. Renewal is possible by retaking the original exam or by earning qualifying same-level or higher-level credentials under the current framework. That means your exam date also starts a calendar you will need to track.
There is a policy wrinkle worth knowing. For credentials earned before the May 11, 2026 framework, Red Hat's FAQ says updated renewal and mapping rules apply to the active transcript after you pass a new exam following that date. Meanwhile, Red Hat's separate certification renewal page still uses older non-expiring terminology and narrower wording for specialist exam-only renewal. Because these sources conflict, consult the current handbook, the dated framework, and your active transcript rather than relying on that legacy page alone.
| Question | What the Sources Support |
|---|---|
| How long is the credential current? | Three years |
| How can it be renewed? | Original exam or qualifying same-level/higher-level credentials under the current framework |
| Do older credentials follow different rules? | Updated renewal and mapping rules apply to the active transcript after a new exam is passed following May 11, 2026 |
| Which source wins in a conflict? | Current handbook, dated framework, and your active transcript over the legacy renewal page |
If you hold an earlier Red Hat credential and are deciding whether now is the right time to sit EX183, check how it maps on your transcript before booking.
Pre-Booking Checklist
- Confirm you understand the exam is hands-on, with configurations that must persist after reboot.
- Verify the price in your regional booking cart; do not assume USD 500.
- Choose a delivery format and check availability for it.
- For remote delivery, prepare the LiveUSB and run the compatibility test immediately after booking.
- Read your confirmation for the exam duration, since the exam page does not state one.
- Review the retake policy and your purchase route's eligibility.
- Allow up to five business days for results in any downstream plans.
- Note the three-year renewal horizon.
Once you are comfortable with logistics, put your effort into hands-on repetition. Our practice test site offers original practice material, and the RHCEAD Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts is a useful last-week reference. If you are weighing the investment, Is the RHCEAD Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and the RHCEAD Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis discuss it without promising specific earnings or job outcomes.
Frequently Asked Questions
The reviewed Red Hat sources do not publish a fixed calendar of sittings for EX183. Availability depends on Red Hat's booking system and the delivery format you choose, so check your regional booking cart for open slots.
The reviewed current exam page does not specify a duration. Confirm the timer in your booking confirmation and exam-day instructions rather than relying on third-party claims.
Red Hat's program-wide standard exam list price is USD 500, but this is not an exam-specific quotation. The regional booking-cart price controls, so verify it at checkout. See our pricing breakdown for more.
Eligible unsuccessful first individual attempts receive one free retake under Red Hat's training policies, subject to purchase or subscription eligibility periods and scheduling restrictions. Read the policy before booking to confirm your route qualifies.
Red Hat's program guide gives a results window of up to five business days. Certifications are current for three years, with renewal through the original exam or qualifying same-level or higher-level credentials under the current framework.